Antichamber Review

Ian R Buck
3 min readDec 24, 2015

--

Antichamber is a thoroughly mind-melting first-person puzzle game that utilizes non-euclidian geometry as most of the puzzle elements. Now there’s a sentence that doesn’t apply to most games.

The visuals are very simple; the hallways are mostly white, with only black lines to indicate where corners are. Colors are very important in this game; they can help you orient yourself as the world changes around you (did I mention that you can be walking down a hallway, get to the end, turn around, and see a completely different hallway behind you?). The color of your gun also determines what its powers are. There are several sections of the game, each requiring a different gun to solve its puzzles.

Speaking of puzzles, they are a doozy. Because the game does not rely on traditional notions of geometry, they can really do whatever they want. I don’t want to spoil any of the puzzles, but don’t feel discouraged if you can’t solve one the first time you try. Sometimes there is a tool or technique that you have to get in a different chamber first. And even if you get completely stuck, you can just hit Esc at any time and go to the antechamber.

The antechamber serves as a main menu. The game’s options and controls are all plastered over one wall, a map of all of the chambers you have been to (you can travel to any one of them from the antechamber) a view of what claims to be the exit, and a big chalkboard of the lessons you have learned.

Those lessons are my favorite thing about the game. They are often placed just before or after a puzzle, and they contain a life lesson that pertains to that particular puzzle.

Eerily, my 21st birthday is coming up. I’ve played about three hours of the game, and I have discovered two different colors of the gun, and I think there are two more. I’m kind of stuck though, and I might have to bite the bullet and look at some walkthroughs.

I would say that a reasonable price for this game is $10, so you should definitely wait until it is on sale to pick it up.

If you like this piece and you want to help me to be able to write more, come support me on Patreon https://www.patreon.com/ianrbuck

Originally published at ianrbuck.blogspot.com on September 8, 2013.

--

--

Ian R Buck

You don’t need a parachute to skydive; you just need a parachute to skydive twice.